Christmas time is here…

So here in Lesotho, in case you did not know, they have summer while north america has winter because of the tilt of the earth and other such factors, which makes for a very interesting Christmas season this year as I sweat a lot, work in the fields, and try to stay hydrated. Last night though was a wonderful flashback to life in the states as my host family and I sang Christmas songs before and after dinner. I played my guitar to the chords that I had figured out while in the states.  While my basotho family did not know many of the songs, they enjoyed hearing them and singing along with those songs that they had never heard before.

Singing songs brings back memories of being with my family during the Christmas season as we travel around our hometown, singing Christmas carols to older people in the community who are still living on their own. While the four part harmony was not completely apparent as it would be in my family, it was still a lot of fun singing the songs and hearing my host family try to learn.

In these moments during the Christmas season, I think about my hometown and the wonderful things that I’ll miss out on this year like a huge Christmas day breakfast after opening presents and sleeping on the couch for the afternoon as everyone takes a much-needed break from the hustle and bustle of our crazy lives. Not only that, but the joy and happiness that you experience as you sit with a cup of coffee, hot chocolate, or tea and talk with your friends without the pressure of homework and end of semester projects.

I hope this year that you get to experience some of this peace and joy as you spend time with family and friends. Remember that the presents aren’t nearly as important as the people that you may give them to or get them from.  If you’re thinking already that the season will be too busy, it might be a good time to slow down and figure out your priorities before this season drives you bonkers (which if you’re like me, it’s a short drive to that).

~ by randallkoehler on December 5, 2011.

One Response to “Christmas time is here…”

  1. Randall we miss you. We hope you have a Wonderful Christmas. You are such a great person. God truly has a plan for you. And you are right family first presents are not priority. North Americans need to realize that. Be happy with what you have. We continue to pray for your journey this year and look forward to seeing you when you come back. Richard, Bonnie, Sam, Jess and Lydia Burmood.

Leave a Reply

 
