Life in the US of A

Life here in the country that I grew up in takes on totally different meaning after spending a year in Lesotho. I’m back studying education at Illinois State University and loving every minute of it, except for all of the lesson plans. I’m in a couple different math teaching classes, a literacy class, a physics class that is a blast, an adolescent psychology course, and a physical education course. All of them have their positives and negatives, but the thing that i enjoy most is that I only go to class 4 days a week, which makes the weekend really nice. I’m also tutoring a second grade boy at the literacy center on campus. It’s been a challenge but also a wonderful way to put into practice some of the things that I’m learning in my literacy class.

Beyond school, I’m also trying to get to a church on Sunday mornings and serving as a worship leader at a local youth group. It’s amazing how you can jump back into things when you’re in your home context. It’s been fun connecting with high school students again and hearing about how God is working in their lives.

In the little things, I have tried to work on practicing some of the things that I made resolutions about after spending a year in Lesotho. I’ve tried to practice conservation of resources in all that I do. Some examples include taking shorter showers, eating less meat, turning off the lights, riding my bike around campus and town, and not going out to eat generally. It’s interesting how easy and difficult it can be. I’ve also tried to research better consumer choices that I can be making in the things that I buy from clothes to food to electronics to paper. It’s amazing how love for God, for people, and for His creation can apply for all of these different areas of life. Hope for the world lies in the everyday actions of me and you. Let’s join God in bringing his kingdom into fruition here and now.

~ by randallkoehler on October 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
